Northern Italy & Burgundy 2011

Valle d’Aosta

Photos by Walt & Gloria Fogler-Mancini


The Valle d’Aosta is an autonomous region of Italy northwest of Piedmont.   It is a valley of the Alps that reaches the slopes of mountains such as Mont Blanc (Monte Bianco) and the Matterhorn (Monte Cervino) which is pictured above.  Considerable commerce flows through the valley via the Mont Blanc tunnel.  Since its completion in 1965, skiing and tourism have also increased.

Some of the side valleys are part of the Parco Nationale del Gran Paradiso.  There are small villages within the park.

The Little San Bernardo Pass offers a lush landscape.

Aosta is the capital of the Valle d’Aosta.  The Romans conquered the area to secure strategic passes in 25 BC and founded the city.  It became the “Rome of the Alps”.  Significant ruins remain, as well as the original layout of the city.

By the eleventh century, the Valle d’Aosta and Piedmont were part of the French House of Savoy.  Many fortresses and castles were built as the area was isolated and it maintained a feudal character.  The French language is still used in parts of the Valle d’Aosta.

The Fortezza di Bard (above) was leveled by Napolean and rebuilt by the House of Savoy about 30 years later.

Centrally located, Aosta is the hub of the valley’s activities.  Many streets are quite old and pedestrianized.

The photographs were taken with Leica cameras, the M8, M9 and D-LUX 3.  All images are copyrighted and may not be reproduced without permission. We can be contacted via e-mail at   Our home page is

January 11, 2012                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  wgfm

There are old border markers between Italy and France.

Click here or above to go to our Piedmont page...